Swing Gate Infant School and Nursery Governors

The Governing Body is a group of people drawn from parents, staff and members of the local community.  Our role is to monitor, sustain and improve the overall performance of the school. Selection of staff, monitoring of the curriculum, review of school policies and maintaining the school premises are all functions of the Governing Body. Together with the Headteacher we have responsibility for the strategic direction of the school.

The Governing Body meets on a monthly basis to discuss strategic and operational matters concerning the school.  In addition to the Governing Body we have a separate Pay Committee, made up of members of the Governing Body, who focus on both the teachers and the Headteachers performance and their pay and reward.  In addition, the committee will also review the financial controls within the school

If you would like to know more about the work of the governors or have any questions about becoming a Governor, please contact Martin Hyland (Chair of Governors) via the form below or by email to chairofgovs@swinggate.herts.sch.uk


Governor Meeting Minutes available on request.


Click here to read the most recent Letter from the Chair of Governors


Who are the Governors?

  • the Headteacher
  • parent governors elected by the parents of the school
  • governors co-opted by the Governing Body from the local community
  • local education authority (LEA) governors nominated by Herts County Council
  • staff governors nominated by the school staff


Term of Office
Mrs Francesca Gallagher 01/09/2016 - 
Parent Governors  
Martin Hyland Chair 15/10/2013 - 14/10/2017
Claire Bannister Vice Chair 15/10/2013 - 14/10/2017
Jayne Dunford 04/10/2013 - 03/10/17
LEA Governors  
Anthea Powell 11/11/2014 - 10/11/2018
Co-Opted Governors                                                          
Howard Mason 1/8/2014 - 31/7/2018
Jennifer Sippings 1/8/2014 - 31/7/2018
Amanda Wilkins 27/11/2015 - 26/11/2019
Lyndsey Atkins 12/11/2015 - 11/11/2019

Sarah Parry 


 3/8/2013 - 2/8/2017
Staff Governor  
Colette Rodgers 21/3/2013 - 20/3/2017
Clerk to the Governors  
Jill Baxter  


Contact Form

Please use this form to send comments or enquiries to the Chair of Governors