Swing Gate Infant School and Nursery


The Governing Board is a group of people drawn from parents, staff and members of the local community.

The Board has 3 main roles:

  • ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction

  •  holding executive leaders (eg Headteacher or other SLT members as appropriate) to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff

  • overseeing the financial performance of the organisation and making sure its money is well spent.

 The Governing Board currently meets seven times a year.  At these meetings Governors discuss many aspects of the life of the school including teaching and learning, pupil progress and attainment, the curriculum, attendance, premises (including health and safety), pupil and staff well-being, monitoring and setting the school budget, safeguarding, exclusions, statutory requirements, selection of staff, policies and appraisal of staff, including the Headteacher.

 In addition to the full Governing Board we have separate committees that may meet outside of the regular full Governors’ meetings and later report back to the full Board. Some committees have delegated decision making authorities.

  • Pay and Finance
  • Headteacher’s Performance Appraisal
  • Exclusions/Appeals (ad hoc)
  • Disciplinary/Appeals (ad hoc)

Governors aim to make termly monitoring visits to school, as well as more regular informal ones. These visits usually focus on priorities in the school improvement plan. 

Individual governors are linked to cover various areas such as safeguarding, CLA (Children Looked After), SEN, health and safety, finance and staff and pupil wellbeing.

If you would like to know more about the work of the governors or have any questions about becoming a Governor, please contact Natalie Crane (Chair of Governors) at chairofgovs@swinggate.herts.sch.uk.

Who are the Governors?

  • the Headteacher
  • parent governors elected by the parents of the school
  • governors co-opted by the Governing Body from the local community
  • local education authority (LEA) governors nominated by Herts County Council
  • staff governors nominated by the school staff.
Category Term of Office
Mrs Francesca Gallagher 01.09.16 -
Parent Governors
Amy Smith (Co-vice chair) 06.11.20 - 05.11.24
Kylie Butcher (Co-vice chair) 06.11.20 - 05.11.24
LEA Governor
Joanna Bateman 04.10.23 - 03.10.27
Co-Opted Governors
Howard Mason 01.08.22 - 31.07.26
Jennifer Sippings  01.08.22 - 31.07.26
Jayne Dunford 10.09.20 - 09.09.24
Josh Kubale 02.02.23 - 01.02.27
Katy Hall (Chair of Governors) 02.02.23 - 01.02.27
Sarah Parry (also member of Staff) 03.08.21 - 02.08.25
Staff Governor  
Colette Marshall 21.03.21 - 20.03.25
Associate Members
Carrie Hardwick (also member of Staff) 22.02.22 - 21.02.26
Michael Vibert 14.11.23 - 13.11.24 
Clerk to the Governors
Jill Baxter


Click on the links below for further information:

Register of Governors interests

Governors' Attendance document 2023-24

Governors' Attendance document 2022-23

Governing Board Code of Conduct

Governors Terms of Reference

Governor Meeting Minutes are available on request.

Swing Gate Lane, Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire HP4 2LJ

01442 863913